Why is it that?

I am 12…

Why is it that I have to go to work?

That I have to support my family?

Why is it that we have to live in a bare hut?

That we have to sleep on the cold dirt?

I am only 12…

I am a woman…

Why is it that I have to cook and

clean for my family?

That I cannot have a career?

Why is it that I get beaten?

That I get mistreated?

Its just gender…

I am Muslim…

Why is it that they come with their guns?

That they shoot innocent people?

Why is it that they use their bombs?

That they destroy towns and homes?

Its just religion…

I am unlucky…

Why is it that I sleep in the gutters?

That I search for food in bins like a mutt?

Why is it that I have to make signs?

That I have to beg for coins?

Its just luck…

I am wealthy…

Why is it that I do not help?

That I watch them suffer?

Why is it that I do not care?

That I am selfish?

Its just money…

  1. #1 by Nathan on May 19, 2011 - 11:14 pm

    Star: I like how this can be read from different perspectives
    Star: I like how this is one poem but different topics.
    Wish: I wish each individual topic could have more.

  1. How can people use their voices to bring about positive change in our world? « Creative Thinkers

Leave a Reply

